Cart items: 0  Total: $0.00

Product Reviews


Neck Warming Wrap Chill Killer

Neck Warming Wrap Chill Killer


Chill Killer Made of highly insulated, warmth generating, durable material, the Chill Killer provides exceptional insulation and wind blocka


Overall Rating: 5 Stars
Based on 8 reviews


Newest Product Reviews for Neck Warming Wrap Chill Killer

Sort by


1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars Chill Killer Keeps me warm for hours
by Rob Behnke on Oct 18, 2010
  Just a follow up on the chill killer I recently purchased. One thing about being in the outdoors is actually enjoying the entire time in the outdoors. I love the fall season and the chill Killer is allowing me to be in nature longer each day. I am also a bow hunter and the past couple of weekends have been awesome sitting through the daylight and not being afraid of the 'chills' chasing me away. My hands to my feet were relaxed and not tense from shivers. I no longer have to deal with gloves as the temperatures and sun drop into the night. I have tried hand warmers in my pockets and these work great but what about my feet? So I put feet warmers in my boots, then what about my head? So you put on a tassel cap. With the chill killer I don't need any of the above, just the chill killer and two hand warmers keep me comfortable for hours. Thanks to your chill killer I am able to enjoy more of what I love. Thank you Rob Behnke
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars ROCK & ICE Magazine
by icipro from Carbondale, CO 81623 on May 20, 2010
  GEAR REVIEWS Chill Killer $19.95 www.chillkiller.com My friend Dave Meyer started the conversation by saying that his father is a little eccentric, then went on to describe how his father’s Chinese herbalist decided that he was allergic to the cold, and so now he takes care to keep his neck covered. Always. “It’s hard to argue with thousands of years of knowledge,” Dave said, belaying me as I shivered up the dark side of a crag. “I made my peace 10 or 15 years ago with the idea that my father will be in shorts and a T-shirt, and a neck gaiter.” Well, I think I am allergic to the cold, too. You people for whom it is warm out, please don’t rub it in. Last week we had six inches of snow. The day before yesterday, sleet. It has also rained all spring. Some of you are sharing these conditions, and others of you are going up high, into cold temps any time of year. I don’t circulate, or at least my fingers don’t. I am not only miserable in the cold but disgustingly weak, as blood flow and muscles constrict. So I use any trick in the book for keeping warm at the crags: wool hat, parka, Thermos full of hot lemonade or Tang (no caffeine), chemical handwarmers in wristbands, and usually a handwarmer dropped into a chalkbag. I buy handwarmers in bulk. I also realized, a bit late, that it helps to keep the neck warm, so I wear zip T-necks and sometimes carry a fleece scarf. The latest bit of such catnip to me is the Chill Killer neck gaiter, developed in Wisconsin, where they know cold as well. This poly fleece neck gaiter, which wraps on with a Velcro closure, insulates and literally warms you: two interior pockets hold heat packs. As clouds gathered yesterday, I pulled a parka on, as usual, and strapped on the gaiter while belaying in the chill shade. I soon felt warmer, not just under the neck wrap but above and below it. The wrap covers the vital thyroid and carotid-artery areas of the neck, down onto the collarbone. Once warmed, these areas appear to spread the joy, and the converse happens when they are chilled. The Chill Killer neck wrap cooks up well, and feels great, genuinely providing extra warmth. I didn’t exactly like the Velcro closure bunching behind while tipping my head back to belay, but soon got used to it, and it’s a fair trade for not having to take off a hat or helmet while on-offing the gaiter for pitches. So far this item seems to have been used mostly by hunters and snowmobilers, with some pro football players thrown in. But it is on this climber’s list of anodynes in the cold. Who am I to argue with thousands of years? —AO ________________________________________ Alison Osius Executive editor, Rock and Ice magazine Columns editor, Trail Runner magazine 417 Main Street, Unit N Carbondale, CO 81623 Phone 970.704.1442 x 111 [please note that this is new: extension used to be 11] Fax 970.963.4965
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars Co-Host
by a member from Chicago, IL. on May 14, 2010
  The Chill Killer Neck Warmer is one of those new products that help keep you warm when you most need it. Whether ice fishing or turkey hunting, the longer I can stay comfortable in the outdoors, the more successful and enjoyable my outings are. The last thing I want is a trip ruined from not dressing for the elements. The Chill-Killer does exactly what its named for--it kills the chills. Larry Ladowski MidWest Outdoors 1-800-606-3474 x106 lladowski@midwestoutdoors.com
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars Outdoor Wisconsin
by Billy Carmen from Michael F. Hupy on May 12, 2010
  I saw Dan Small (host of Outdoor Wisconsin) wearing a new piece of winter clothing the other day that I was extremely impressed with. It's called the Chill Killer and it takes the place of a scarf. It comes in orange, black and camo.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars Dr. Michael Billig Chiropractic Physician
by Billy Carmen from Michael F. Billig on Apr 28, 2010
  Thank you for sending me your CHILL KILLER. I have used it quite extensively recently. Particularly because of the subzero temperatures. I find it very beneficial particularly when you are out working with horses and training them, and going down the road in very cold weather it is very beneficial. I am sure people who snowmobile would also find it very beneficial. Anatomically speaking it does cover some very vital parts, particularly the thyroid area of the neck and into the upper chest. These areas are vitally important because once they are chilled, your body will chill quite quickly and rapidly. As time goes on I will test it even more.

I found an article in one of the outdoor magazines recently, concerning re-using the hand warmers that are inserted. People like myself will only need it for a couple of hours, take the hand warmers and put them in a tight air jar and you can re-use them for several more hours. but as long as they do not get any oxygen they will not dissipate. Again, I thank you for letting me try these and I really appreciate it. I would also like it if you would send me at least a black one to see how it would work out for my son who works as a border agent. Please send me one and I will gladly pay for it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars ESPNOutdoors.com rates Chill Killer
by James Swan on Apr 5, 2010
  Kevin Short recently wrote a great column about his advice on clothing to stay warm bass fishing on cold winter days.

I'd like to add my two cents on cold weather clothing coming from the perspective of someone who has taught mind-body science to graduate students, and is a Hunter Education Instructor preparing folks for the Sierra snow and frosty duck blinds in the Sacramento Valley, where it gets down below freezing.

First of all, respect cold weather, but don't fear it. Fear, in wilderness survival situations, is what gets people in trouble, because they either panic and begin making bad decisions, or they give up and become depressed. You lose heat in cold weather three ways: conduction, convection and evaporation. To reduce the amount of heat lost through conduction, you need insulation with lots of dead air space within its structure and resistance to compression if weight is applied to it. Layers, man, layers, like Kevin says.

To reduce heat lost through convection, use a windproof outer shell that you can wear over your insulation layers. This helps cut windchill.

The Chill Killer is a neck wrap made of highly insulated poly wicking fleece material that blocks wind, traps heat and definitely makes your neck feel warmer.

There is a misconception that cold weather can give you a cold. According to Andrew Weil, MD: " ... none of the many studies has shown that weather conditions or getting chilled or overheated affect either the development or severity of colds."

That said, aside from a chill being uncomfortable, the real dangers of not being prepared for cold weather are frostbite and hypothermia.

At or below 32 degrees, blood vessels close to the skin contract, and the skin temperature drops, which can lead to serious damage to skin and tissue — frostbite. Preventing frostbite is pretty straightforward — in very cold weather dress in layers, cover your face, ears, and hands, and keep your feet warm and dry.

All you need is to lose enough body heat to start dropping your core temperature below 95 and symptoms of hypothermia can begin — your metabolism drops, and you begin to lose critical thinking ability, focus, energy and eventually you will pass out and go into a coma. Hypothermia can happen when the thermometer is in the 60s if you are not properly protected.

I recommend that all outdoor sportsmen that venture far from their cars in cold weather should carry a space blanket. Small, lightweight and compact, that shiny silver blanket can save lives by keeping you warm, and double as a reflector if you get lost and want to send a signal to searchers.

Another common belief is that there is more heat lost from the head than any other part of the body. This belief is both false and true, according to the Wilderness Medicine Newsletter. The head normally accounts for about 7 percent of the body heat lost.

However, the harder your heart beats, the greater the blood flow to the brain. When you begin to exercise, there is increased cerebral blood flow, which increases the percentage of heat lost through the head to about 50 percent of total body heat loss.

As you continue to exercise, however, the muscles demand more oxygen, which increases blood flow elsewhere, and heat loss from the head drops back down. Once sweating begins, the percent lost through the scalp returns to 7 percent.

However, and this is important, if a hypothermia victim is shivering, the percent of heat loss via the scalp can increase to upwards of 55 percent.

In cold weather, a covering for your head traps body heat by layers of air space, which have to be much more dense than human hair to provide a thermal barrier. Beards are great, but they are too thin to do much good to keep you much warmer.

Choosing the right clothing — muscle testing When you buy clothing, fit is essential, looks are important, as are the weight and number of pockets, and what the clothing will protect you from, but there is another factor you should check — how it affects your muscle strength.

During the 1960s, Detroit chiropractor Dr. George Goodheart discovered that the strength of muscles is influenced by health conditions, illness as well as allergies. This discovery led to his developing a system of diagnosis and treatment called Applied Kineseology.

I first became aware of AK in 1975 when athletes competing in the Olympic Track and Field Trials at the University of Oregon demanded that a team of chiropractors be present to treat them with AK before competing. Many of those who were treated either won their events or placed high. Today, many pro sports teams and pro athletes have a chiropractor that uses AK on staff or on call.

Goodhart also found that fabrics could also influence your muscle strength. Hold your arm out straight in front of you. Ask a partner to push down on your arm as you resist the push. Your strength is a baseline. Unless you have an allergic reaction, most people will not be weakened by contact with wool or cotton clothing.

Now drape a polyester shirt over your shoulders and repeat the arm strength test. Various plastics and some synthetic fabrics will dramatically weaken some people. I have seen T-shirts, with large colorful plastic designs situated over the solar plexus area, which reduce a person's muscle strength by 40-50 percent. Such shirts, for distance runners, can decrease knee strength, which can translate into chronic injuries.

The Chill Killer A friend from Wisconsin recently sent me the Chill Killer, a neck wrap made of highly insulated poly wicking fleece material that blocks the wind, provides insulation, traps heat and definitely makes your neck feel warmer.

I like fleece clothing. No itching. It's lightweight, lots of air space, it wicks away perspiration, and it keeps you warm. So, I put on the Chill Killer, which is a one-size-fits-all collar. Immediately I felt warmer. To my surprise, not just on my neck, but above and below the wrap. And my muscle test showed no loss of strength.

Scarves, balaclavas, and turtleneck shirts all help keep body heat in and protect your neck. But there is a special feature of the Chill Killer for those of you who live in really cold climates. You can insert Grabber handwarmers into two pouches on the inner side that are positioned over the carotid artery on either side of the neck.

My guess is that by placing the warmer pouches (even without the Grabbers) over the carotid arteries, it slightly elevates the temperature of blood going to the head, which feels good. And, the heat also makes your neck muscles relax, which would facilitate warm blood flow. But, I wanted to consult an expert.

I asked Chill Killer inventor Dane Charles to send one to Dr. Mike Billig in Vermont. Mike is a nationally known chiropractor, as well as being an avid waterfowl hunter and outdoorsman.

When I talked with Mike, he had just come in from shoveling Vermont's record-breaking snow. Mike said that he had been wearing the Chill Killer all day and he really liked it. He, too, had the feeling that it seems to warm you over a larger area of the body than just the neck.

"The first place we get cold is the episternal notch, in the front of the neck," he said. The Chill Killer covers that perfectly. Mike also tried AK muscle testing. "The scores were good," Mike reported, noting "if they weren't, I would not endorse the product."

I also took my Chill Killer to my local chiropractor, Dr. Mary Schaffer.

"When a person gets cold, their muscles shrink, which causes blood flow to decrease, which results in weakness," Dr. Shafer says. Muscle testing with the Chill Killer showed that my muscle strength was consistent and strong with it on or off.

Chill Killers come in black, camou or orange and run $19.95. You can get them through many sporting goods stores, or through Wisconsin outdoor radio show host Dan Small's Outdoor Radio Online Store.

Enjoy the winter weather, but kill the chill.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars Congratulations on a great product!
by Dan Small from Belgium, WI on Jan 11, 2010
  Dear Dane: Congratulations on a great product! As someone who spends a lot of time outdoors all year long, I am always on the lookout for items that can keep me comfortable regardless of the weather. Whether I’m producing a TV show or just doing some recreational hunting, fishing, snowshoeing or skiing, I need to stay warm to be on top of my game. I have worn your Chill Killer on numerous occasions this winter and can honestly say nothing works better for keeping me warm in cold weather. I like the easy-on, easy-off feature and the fact that Chill Killer can be worn with or without heat packs. I have used it both ways and it has blocked the wind and kept me warm. On a recent rabbit hunt when the wind chill was well below zero, my Chill Killer worked so well I was able to hunt with fingerless gloves and stay warm. Best regards, Dan Small
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 1 found the following review helpful:
5 Stars a valuable tool
by Keith Chamberlain from Barton, VT on Dec 28, 2009
  I used the Chill Killer while ice fishing on Caspian Lake in Northern Vermont. It allowed me to stay out in the wind longer, making it easier for me to catch my limit. It is a valuable tool that combats the cold and it is small enough to fit in your pocket. Whether you work or play in extreme cold, the Chill Killer will make a real difference in your comfort. Keith Chamberlain
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No